Maryland Registry

View Map

Background

Maryland pioneered the concept of a Watershed Resources Registry in 2006, when a team of federal and state agencies began evaluating impacts related to a large-scale transportation project in southern Maryland. The potential cumulative impacts from this project made obvious the need for a tool that would allow agencies to cooperatively evaluate projects and to employ consistent spatial datasets. With the publication of the 2008 Compensatory Mitigation Rule, the need to select mitigation sites based on watershed needs became more pressing. fish Staff from US Environmental Protection Agency Region 3, Maryland Department of Transportation State Highway Administration (MDOT SHA), and the Army Corps of Engineers – Baltimore District decided to start a WRR project. Other participating agencies include Maryland’s Department of Natural Resources, Department of the Environment, and Department of Planning, and the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service.

Maryland's eight analyses were made available in an easy-to-use interactive map in 2011. Two years later Maryland updated the spatial analyses with new spatial data and adjustments to the system. Maryland's WRR has been continuously operating since 2011.

Additional Resources

Spatial Analyses

Get more information about the spatial analyses and factors selected by the state of Maryland for their models.

View Here

Contacts

For more information on Maryland's WRR you can contact the following:

Name Agency Phone Email
Ellen Bryson US Environmental Protection Agency, Region III (215) 814-5727 bryson.ellen@epa.gov
Rachel Marks Maryland Department of Natural Resources (410) 260-8388 rachel.marks@maryland.gov
Theresa Foye Maryland Environmental Service (410) 729-8534 tfoye@menv.com
Sandy Hertz Maryland Department of Transportation (410) 865-2780 shertz@mdot.state.md.us
Ray Li US Fish and Wildlife Service (410) 573-4522 ray_li@fws.gov
Donna Buscemi Maryland Department of Transportation, State Highway Administration (410) 545-8558 dbuscemi@sha.state.md.us
Jeannette Mar Federal Highway Administration (410) 779-7152 jeanette.mar@dot.gov
Kelly Neff Maryland Department of the Environment (410) 537-4018 kelly.neff@maryland.gov
Nick Ozburn US Army Corps of Engineers, Baltimore District (410) 962-6083 nicholas.r.ozburn@usace.army.mil
Ralph Spagnolo US Environmental Protection Agency, Region III (215) 814-2718 spagnolo.ralph@epa.gov
Angela Butler Maryland Department of Planning (410) 767-4087 angela.butler@maryland.gov

Special funding from the American Association of State and Highway Transportation Officials (AASHTO) has supported Maryland staff time to reach out to other states to share its experiences with a WRR, including workshops, travel and webinar. The WRR team appreciates its support.

Partners

DOT
MDOT Logo
Marlyand Environmental Service Logo
EPA